GermanEnglish

Shoe store Zaisenberger | 

Master shoemaker

From loden to shoe

Sonja Grill opened a shoe shop in Bad Aussee in 1988 and passed the master craftsman examination for shoemaking in 1993. Handmade loden shoes, brogue shoes and bespoke shoes are made in the shoemaker's workshop in Pichl-Kainisch, founded in 1961 by father Josef Zaisenberger.

From a factual point of view, the human foot has always been used to natural materials when it comes to protective clothing. Their use has a correspondingly positive effect on the health and well-being of the foot. Loden warms, is breathable and at the same time, especially as whale loden, is almost windproof and waterproof. Nature or the Ovis gmelini aries (sheep) provide a great raw material that has been used for many centuries in the cold regions of Europe and is also very visually appealing.

As a traditional, resource-saving natural material, the Loden Sonja Grill inspired a model with a regional reference, the “Ausseer Tatscher”. This loden shoe with leather trim, optionally with lambskin lining, in different colors, is the perfect companion on cold winter days.

Historical

The use of loden has been proven since the Iron Age. The term goes back, among other things, to the Old High German “lodo” for “coarse cloth, coarse woolen stuff” and, by the way, denotes, contrary to the colloquial usage, both raw fabric before fulling as well as milled and roughened wool. (see Brockhaus and Ingrid Loschek, Reclams Mode and Costume Lexicon, Stuttgart 2011)

Loden was traditionally the robust clothing material of the European peasant and rural population. In the milled form, it was valued for its wind and rain tightness and was also used on a small scale for simple footwear. Evidence from past centuries shows that in Ausseerland loden was also used as part of working day clothing for all kinds of footwear - whether for "outdoor" walk boots with double leather soles or for "indoor" slippers.

In comparison, a pair of good leather shoes in the Salzkammergut was considered an expensive commodity until the 20th century, which was reserved for those who needed sturdy work shoes (forest and woodwork) and the wealthy. After all, a pair of shoes cost an average monthly wage and therefore you could only get them when your feet were "fully grown".

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Tatscher

Haferlschuhe

Loden leggings

Bespoke shoes

Shoe repairs

Shoe trade

Contact

Zaisenberger shoe store

Sonja Grill
Bahnhofstrasse 132
8990 Bad Aussee

GermanEnglish

Schuhhaus Zaisenberger | 

Schuhmachermeisterin

Vom Loden zum Schuh

Sonja Grill eröffnete 1988 ein Schuhfachgeschäft in Bad Aussee und legte 1993 die Meisterprüfung für Schuhmacherei ab. Handgemachte Lodenschuhe, Haferlschuhe und Maßschuhe werden in der 1961 vom Vater Josef Zaisenberger gegründeten Schuhmacherwerkstatt in Pichl-Kainisch gefertigt.

Der menschliche Fuß ist, sachlich betrachtet, in Sachen Schutzbekleidung seit jeher an natürliche Materialien gewöhnt. Entsprechend positiv wirken sich deren Verwendung auf Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden des Fußes aus. Loden wärmt, ist atmungsaktiv und gleichzeitig, vor allem als Walkloden, nahezu wind- und wasserdicht. Die Natur bzw. das Ovis gmelini aries (Schaf) stellen einen großartigen Rohstoff zur Verfügung, der seit vielen Jahrhunderten in den kalten Regionen ganz Europas Verwendung findet und ganz nebenbei auch optisch überaus ansprechend ist.

Als traditionsreiches ressourcenschonendes Naturmaterial hat der Loden Sonja Grill zu einem Modell mit Regionalbezug, zum „Ausseer Tatscher“, inspiriert. Dieser Lodenschuh mit Lederbesatz, optional mit Lammfellfutter, in unterschiedlichen farblichen Ausführungen ist der perfekte Begleiter an kalten Wintertagen.

Historisches

Nachgewiesen ist der Gebrauch von Loden seit der Eisenzeit. Der Begriff geht u.a. auf das althochdeutsche ,lodo‘ für ‚grobes Tuch, grobes Wollzeug‘ zurück und bezeichnet übrigens, wider dem umgangssprachlichen Gebrauch, sowohl Rohgewebe vor dem Walken als auch gewalkte und geraute Wolle. (vgl. dazu Brockhaus und Ingrid Loschek, Reclams Mode- und Kostümlexikon, Stuttgart 2011)

Loden war traditionell der widerstandsfähige Kleidungsstoff der europäischen bäuerlich-ländlichen Bevölkerung. In der gewalkten Form wurde er wegen seiner Wind- und Regendichtigkeit geschätzt und kleinräumig auch für einfaches Schuhwerk verwendet. Nachweise aus vergangenen Jahrhunderten belegen, dass im Ausseerland Loden als Bestandteil der Werktagskleidung auch für Schuhwerk aller Art – ob für „outdoor“-Walkstiefel mit aufgedoppelter Ledersohle oder für „indoor“-Hausschuhe – verwendet wurde.

Im Vergleich dazu galt ein Paar guter Lederschuhe im Salzkammergut bis ins 20. Jahrhundert als teures Gut, welches jenen, die feste Arbeitsschuhe (Forst- und Holzarbeit) benötigten, und Betuchteren vorbehalten war. Ein Paar Schuhe kostete immerhin einen durchschnittlichen Monatslohn und daher bekam man diese frühestens, wenn die Füße „ausgewachsen“ waren.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Tatscher

Haferlschuhe

Lodengamaschen

Maßschuhe

Schuhreparaturen

Schuhhandel

SCHUHHAUS ZAISENBERGER Schuhmachermeisterin

Kontakt

Schuhhaus Zaisenberger

Sonja Grill
Bahnhofstraße 132
8990 Bad Aussee