GermanEnglish

LOTHAR MENS & HANS HÖLBLING | 

Attersee Brewery

Hops and malt ... the craft keeps it!

In 2006 Lothar Mens and Hans Hölbling founded the Attersee brewery in Straß im Attergau with the aim of making beer a purely natural product again, consisting of hops, malt, yeast and barley / wheat.

Hops have not always been an indispensable part of beer everywhere. For the Attersee Brewery, hops are an absolutely incomparable ingredient that they obtain from the Mühlviertel. The other ingredients of their draft beers also come from Upper Austria.

Historical

Around 200 years ago, JG Krünitz praised beer brewing as "one of the most elegant and necessary occupations of the food industry." (JG Krünitz, Oeconomische Encyclopädie, Berlin, 1773 - 1858)

The peoples of the Orient and other parts of the world made the discovery thousands of years ago that the starch content of the seeds of all types of grain produces an intoxicating drink when treated with water and heat. Evidence from Mesopotamia, ancient Egypt and other cultures around the globe prove this. One can assume that beer was a coincidental by-product of the settling down of humans through agriculture, ie the cultivation of grain (emmer, einkorn, barley, oats ...). It is possible that excess grain was processed into beer-like beverages. Perhaps it was leftover bread that accidentally got into containers with water, warmed up by the sun and fermented by wild yeasts in the air, and helped people develop beer.

Interestingly, in Europe, brewing beer was a female domain for a long time, i.e. a woman's job in the context of housework. When urban centers with crowds of people and houses emerged in the Middle Ages, in which beer brewing soon grew beyond personal needs, it was linked to a brewing law, i.e. a kind of trade license. Maximilian I, for example, gave Hallstatt, or what is now known as the Bräugasthof there, one in the 16th century.

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

A beer

Jagabier

Coffeebock

Contact

Brewery Attersee GmbH

Rhinestone 8
4881 Strass im Attergau

GermanEnglish

LOTHAR MENS & HANS HÖLBLING | 

Brauerei Attersee

Hopfen und Malz… das Handwerk erhalt‘s!

2006 gründeten Lothar Mens und Hans Hölbling die Brauerei Attersee in Straß im Attergau mit dem Ziel, das Bier wieder zu einem reinen Naturprodukt, bestehend aus Hopfen, Malz, Hefe und Gerste/Weizen, zu machen.

Hopfen war nicht immer und überall ein unerlässlicher Bestandteil des Bieres. Für die Brauerei Attersee ist Hopfen eine absolut unvergleichliche Ingredienz, die sie aus dem Mühlviertel beziehen. Auch die anderen Zutaten ihrer Fassbiere kommen aus Oberösterreich.

Historisches

Vor rund 200 Jahren lobte J. G. Krünitz das Bierbrauen als „eine der vornehmsten und nöthigsten Beschäftigungen des Nahrungsstandes überhaupt.“ (J. G. Krünitz, Oeconomische Encyclopädie, Berlin, 1773 – 1858)

Die Entdeckung, dass der Stärkegehalt der Samen aller Getreidearten bei Behandlung mit Wasser und Wärme ein berauschendes Getränk ergibt, machten die Völker des Orients und anderer Erdteile schon vor Jahrtausenden. Zeugnisse aus Mesopotamien, dem alten Ägypten und anderer Kulturen rund um den Erdball belegen dies. Man kann davon ausgehen, dass Bier ein zufälliges Nebenprodukt der Sesshaftwerdung des Menschen durch den Ackerbau, d.h. dem Anbau von Getreide (Emmer, Einkorn, Gerste, Hafer …), war. Möglicherweise wurden Getreideüberschüsse zu bierähnlichen Getränken verarbeitet. Vielleicht waren es Brotreste gewesen, die, zufällig in Behälter mit Wasser gelangt, durch die Sonne erwärmt und durch wilde Hefen in der Luft zum Gären gebracht, dem Menschen bei der Entwicklung von Bier auf die Sprünge halfen.

Interessanterweise war in Europa das Bierbrauen lange Zeit eine weibliche Domäne, also Frauensache im Rahmen von Hausarbeit. Als dann im Mittelalter städtische Zentren mit Menschen- und Häuseransammlungen entstanden, in denen das Bierbrauen bald über den Eigenbedarf hinauswuchs, wurde es an eine Braugerechtigkeit gekoppelt, also an eine Art Gewerbeberechtigung. Maximilian I. verlieh beispielsweise Hallstatt, bzw. dem dortigen heute so genannten Bräugasthof, eine solche im 16. Jahrhundert.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

A-Bier

Jagabier

Kaffeebock

LOTHAR MENS & HANS HÖLBLING | Brauerei Attersee

Kontakt

Brauerei Attersee GmbH

Strass 8
4881 Strass im Attergau