GermanEnglish

Wittek-Design | 

weaving

Giving fabrics a face

Before Evelin and Walter Wittek took over the Heger weaving mill in Golling, the two creative minds worked successfully in a team for over 20 years as textile designers for leading companies in the textile industry. In 2004 they decided to continue running the small but fine fabric manufacturer Heger, which had no successor.

Evelin Wittek remains true to the common slogan "Luxury is to be able to weave fabrics that correspond to our aesthetic understanding - that means production methods, materials and handling of nature must be in harmony" even after the loss of her husband (in a tragic traffic accident) .

Through the synergy of the studio and weaving mill, Wittek-Design sets new standards. Traditional weaving art is being developed carefully, but still modern and close to the zeitgeist. In addition to private customers for the ready-made range, their customers for upholstery fabrics include interior decorators, the upholstered furniture industry, wholesalers, hotel outfitters and architects.

Historical

Weaving in and of itself is not just one of the basic human achievements of the Neolithic. It is generally one of the oldest crafts and techniques for the production of textile fabrics and describes a process consisting of two thread systems crossing at right angles, of which the warp runs vertically and the weft runs transversely. The fabric is created by hand or by machine, following certain principles known as binding.

In Central Europe, yarns made from animal wool and vegetable fibers, mostly sheep's wool and flax, have been the basis for woven fabrics for thousands of years. They dominated the Central European textile production until the 19th century, from the 18th century onwards they were gradually replaced by "calico manufacturers".

In connection with prehistoric mining in Hallstatt, there is comparatively astonishing evidence of the Bronze Age and Iron Age weaving art with a regional reference. The Natural History Museum is responsible for the relevant research work at Hallstätter Salzberg, which highlights, among other things, clear differences in quality of the examined fabrics: in the Bronze Age, single-colored fabrics made of woolen yarns of coarser design with thick threads (1-2 mm in diameter) and low weave density in plain weave predominate.

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Multifaceted assortments of fabrics for the contract and private sector:

Shaft and jacquard woven upholstery fabrics made from virgin wool and Diolen Safe

Decorative fabrics made from 100% linen

Wool and linen upholstery

Table and bed linen made from 100% linen

Contact

Wittek-Design Weberei GmbH

Fichtenstrasse 304
5440 Golling on the Salzach

Wittek-Design | 

Weberei

Stoffen ein Gesicht verleihen

Bevor Evelin und Walter Wittek die Weberei Heger in Golling übernahmen, arbeiteten die beiden kreativen Köpfe über 20 Jahre im Team erfolgreich als Textildesigner für führende Unternehmen der Textilbranche. 2004 beschlossen sie, die kleine, aber feine Stoffmanufaktur Heger, die keinen Nachfolger hatte, weiter zu führen.

Dem gemeinsamen Slogan „Luxus ist, Stoffe weben zu können, die unserem ästhetischen Verständnis entsprechen – das bedeutet, Herstellungsweise, Materialien und Umgang mit der Natur müssen im Einklang stehen“ bleibt Evelin Wittek auch nach dem Verlust ihres Mannes (durch einen tragischen Verkehrsunfall) treu.

Durch die Synergie von Atelier und Weberei setzt Wittek-Design neue Maßstäbe. Traditionelle Webkunst wird behutsam, aber doch modern und nahe am Zeitgeist weiterentwickelt. Neben den Privatkunden für das Fertigsortiment zählen für die Möbelstoffe vor allem Raumausstatter, Polstermöbelindustrie, Großhändler, Hotelausstatter und Architekten zu ihren Kunden.

Historisches

Das Weben an sich ist nicht nur eine der grundlegenden menschlichen Errungenschaften der Jungsteinzeit. Es zählt generell zu den ältesten Handwerken und Techniken zur Herstellung von textilen Flächengeweben und bezeichnet ein Verfahren aus zwei sich rechtwinklig verkreuzenden Fadensystemen, von denen die Kette senkrecht und der Schuss quer verläuft. Bestimmten Gesetzmäßigkeiten, die man als Bindung bezeichnet, folgend, entsteht von Hand oder maschinell das Gewebe.

In Mitteleuropa waren es seit jeher Garne aus tierischer Wolle und pflanzlichen Fasern, zumeist Schafwolle und Flachs, die über Jahrtausende die Grundlage für Webstoffe bildeten. Sie dominierten die mitteleuropäische Textilherstellung bis ins 19. Jahrhundert, ab dem 18. Jahrhundert setzte die sukzessive Verdrängung durch „Kattunmanufakturen“ ein.

In Verbindung mit dem prähistorischen Bergbau in Hallstatt gibt es für bronzezeitliche und eisenzeitliche Webkunst vergleichsweise erstaunliche Belege mit Regionalbezug. Verantwortlich für die diesbezügliche Forschungsarbeit am Hallstätter Salzberg zeichnet das Naturhistorische Museum, das unter anderem klare Qualitätsunterschiede der untersuchten Gewebe hervorhebt: in der Bronzezeit überwiegen einfarbige Stoffe aus Wollgarnen gröberer Machart mit dicken Fäden (1-2 mm im Durchmesser) und geringer Webdichte in Leinwandbindung.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Facettenreiche Stoffsortimente für den Objekt- und Privatbereich:

Schaft- und jacquardgewebte Möbelstoffe aus Schurwolle und Diolen Safe

Dekostoffe aus 100 % Leinen

Polster aus Wolle und Leinen

Tisch- und Bettwäsche aus 100 % Leinen

Kontakt

Wittek-Design Weberei GmbH

Fichtenstraße 304
5440 Golling an der Salzach