GermanEnglish

MARIO SCHECKENBERGER | 

Beer smiths

Hammer the taste into the beer

Mario Scheckenberger has turned his long-standing passion into a job. After 16 years as a hobby brewer, he founded the beer smithy in 2015, where his grandfather's blacksmithing was eponymous.

Developing your own recipes, carefully selecting from over 200 types of hops and malts that have hardened for different lengths of time around the world, doing every single step by hand from crushing the malt to bottling, these are the ingredients for the beers of the beer smiths full of character, their quality regularly through awards, up to the European Beer Star in gold, is confirmed.

In the production of the unique variety of beer, which can include up to 16 types, pasteurization and filtration are dispensed with, which means that all valuable vitamins, proteins and trace elements are retained. An important quality factor for wholesome beer is the maturation time, which is at least 6 weeks in the beer smithy.

Interview
Award-winning beer smithing

Until well into the 19th century, it was common in the beer-drinking regions of Europe that larger towns or districts were supplied with this fermentation drink via “own” regional breweries. Only a few enclaves were able to maintain their independence in this regard into the 21st century. Fortunately, however, there has been a trend reversal for several years, a kind of decentralization. The beer smithy in Steinbach am Attersee is one of these “trend reversers”.

Key data

Employees: four year-round, eight in summer (brewery and catering)

Production volume: 1000 hl / year
Beers: Up to sixteen, nine of them all year round; of the additional special brews, only one brew is brewed at a time, which guarantees a unique variety of beers

Such a variety of beers, explains company founder Mario Scheckenberger, requires a lot of passion and a constant focus on quality.

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Types of beer

Meisterstück (Pils), workpiece (Märzen), white glow (wheat beer), journeyman's piece (Altbier), red glow (old Bavarian dark), tinder (smoked beer), hammer (Baltic Porter), anvil (Imperial Stout), flying sparks (Honigbock)

Brewery tours including beer tasting

from 6 people by appointment

Braustub'n:

March to December - Thursday to Saturday, from 17 p.m.
July and August - Wednesday to Saturday, from 17 p.m.

Business:

See website for current opening times

Contact

Beer smiths

Seefeld 56
4853 Steinbach am Attersee

MARIO SCHECKENBERGER | 

Bierschmiede

Den Geschmack ins Bier hämmern

Mario Scheckenberger hat seine langjährige Leidenschaft zum Beruf gemacht. Nach 16 Jahren als Hobbybrauer gründete er 2015 die Bierschmiede, wobei das Schmiedehandwerk seines Großvaters namensgebend war.

Eigene Rezepturen zu entwickeln, dabei aus den weltweit über 200 Hopfensorten und unterschiedlich lange gedarrten Malzsorten sorgfältig auszuwählen, jeden einzelnen Schritt vom Schroten des Malzes bis zum Abfüllen selbst von Hand zu machen, das sind die Zutaten für die charaktervollen Biere der Bierschmiede, deren Qualität regelmäßig durch Prämierungen, bis zum European Beer Star in Gold, Bestätigung findet.

Bei der Produktion der einzigartigen Biervielfalt, die bis zu 16 Sorten umfassen kann, wird auf Pasteurisierung und Filtration verzichtet, wodurch alle wertvollen Vitamine, Eiweiße und Spurenelemente erhalten bleiben. Ein wichtiger Qualitätsfaktor für bekömmliches Bier ist die Reifezeit, die in der Bierschmiede mindestens 6 Wochen beträgt.

Interview
Prämierte Bierschmiedekunst

Bis weit ins 19. Jahrhundert war es in den biertrinkenden Regionen Europas üblich, dass größere Orte oder Landkreise über „eigene“ regionale Brauereien mit diesem Gärgetränk versorgt wurden. Nur wenige Enklaven konnten ihre diesbezügliche Eigenständigkeit bis ins 21. Jahrhundert halten. Erfreulicherweise gibt es jedoch seit einigen Jahren eine Trendumkehr, eine Dezentralisierung quasi. Die Bierschmiede in Steinbach am Attersee gehört zu diesen „Trendumkehrern“.

Eckdaten

MitarbeiterInnen: ganzjährig vier, im Sommer acht Beschäftigte (Brauerei und Gastronomie)

Produktionsvolumen: 1000 hl/Jahr
Biersorten: Bis zu sechzehn, davon neun ganzjährig; von den zusätzlichen Spezialsuden wird jeweils nur ein einziger Sud gebraut, wodurch eine einzigartige Biervielfalt gewährleistet ist

Eine solche Vielfalt an Biersorten, erklärt Firmengründer Mario Scheckenberger, braucht viel Leidenschaft und einen permanenten Blick auf die Qualität.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Biersorten

Meisterstück (Pils), Werkstück (Märzen), Weißglut (Weißbier), Gesellenstück (Altbier), Rotglut (Altbayrisch Dunkel), Zunder (Rauchbier), Hammer (Baltic Porter), Amboss (Imperial Stout), Funkenflug (Honigbock)

Brauereiführungen inkl. Bierverkostung

ab 6 Personen nach Voranmeldung

Braustub’n:

März bis Dezember – Donnerstag bis Samstag, jeweils ab 17 Uhr
Juli und August – Mittwoch bis Samstag, jeweils ab 17 Uhr

G‘schäft’l:

Aktuelle Öffnungszeiten siehe Website

Kontakt

Bierschmiede

Seefeld 56
4853 Steinbach am Attersee