GermanEnglish

Gernot Haberl | 

Upholsterers & upholsterers

The soul of Austrian seating culture

Gernot Haberl is a master upholsterer and upholsterer and has been running the company founded by his father in St. Georgen im Attergau since 1998. He is supported by his daughter Alexandra, who has meanwhile also made the master. The Austrian tradition of upholstery technology is continued in this family business with a high level of craftsmanship.

Through professional complete restoration and upholstery, seating and reclining furniture is awakened to new life and once again into utility furniture for countless seating opportunities. The upholstery work on the historical furniture is carried out using natural materials: the suspension of the seat structure is hand-laced, then the interior is shaped and shaped with palm fiber (African), horsehair and jute. After the furniture has been covered with molino cotton, it is covered with the furniture fabric selected by the customer.

Chaise longue, ottoman, armchair, sofa, divan - all these are the exotic and sounding names of upholstered seating culture. The Austrian upholstery culture flourished during the time of the monarchy and has bequeathed a considerable variety of special seating and reclining furniture to posterity, which are not only beautiful, but also offer high seating comfort. Up until the 1960s, seating furniture was manufactured that could be repaired. Taking into account their long lifespan, the restoration of these diverse pieces of furniture is a good example of resource conservation, sustainability and the respectful use of energy, knowledge and skills of previous generations. As long as the traditional upholstery culture is valued and used, the high level of craftsmanship lives on.

Mastery

The traditional craft in Austria is characterized by the dual training system. In addition to the theoretical training in the vocational school, this ensures the personal and dynamic transfer of knowledge and skills in the craft business.

The dual training system in traditional handicrafts was and is characterized primarily by the qualifications of the masters, who are able to pass this knowledge on because of their extensive and practical experience in entrepreneurship as a leading figure. (see Sandgruber, Bichler-Ripfl, Walcher; Traditional handicrafts as intangible cultural heritage and economic factor in Austria, Vienna 2016, p. 33)

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Complete restoration of (antique) seating and reclining furniture

Modern upholstery of all kinds

Seating furniture of different styles

Selected furniture and curtain fabrics

Carpets and floor coverings

Sunscreen

Contact

The upholstery workshop

Attergaustraße 68
4880 St. Georgen im Attergau

Gernot Haberl | 

Polsterer & Tapezierer

Die Seele österreichischer Sitzkultur

Gernot Haberl ist Polsterer- und Tapezierermeister und führt seit 1998 den von seinem Vater gegründeten Betrieb in St. Georgen im Attergau. Er wird dabei von seiner Tochter Alexandra, die mittlerweile ebenfalls den Meister gemacht hat, unterstützt. Mit hoher handwerklicher Kunstfertigkeit wird in diesem Familienunternehmen die österreichische Tradition der Polstertechnik fortgeführt.

Durch fachgerechte Komplettrestaurierung und Aufpolsterung werden Sitz- und Liegemöbel zu neuem Leben erweckt und neuerlich zu Gebrauchsmöbeln für unzählige Sitz-Gelegenheiten. Die Polsterarbeiten am historischen Möbel werden unter Verwendung von natürlichen Materialien durchgeführt: die Federung des Sitzaufbaus wird handgeschnürt, danach das Innenleben mit Palmfaser (Afrik), Rosshaar und Jute geformt und fassoniert. Nach dem Überziehen des Möbels mit Baumwollmolino erfolgt der Bezug mit dem vom Kunden ausgewählten Möbelstoff.

Chaiselongue, Ottomane, Fauteuil, Kanapee, Diwan – all das sind die klingenden und exotischen Bezeichnungen gepolsterter Sitzkultur. Die österreichische Polsterkultur gelangte in der Zeit der Monarchie zu einer Hochblüte und hat der Nachwelt eine beachtliche Vielfalt besonderer Sitz- und Liegemöbel vermacht, die nicht nur schön sind, sondern hohen Sitzkomfort bieten. Bis in die 1960er Jahre wurden Sitzmöbel reparaturfähig hergestellt. Unter Berücksichtigung deren langer Lebensdauer, ist die Restaurierung dieser vielfältigen Möbelstücke ein gutes Beispiel für Ressourcenschonung, Nachhaltigkeit und wertschätzenden Umgang mit Energieaufwand, Wissen und Können früherer Generationen. Solange die tradierte Polsterkultur geschätzt und genutzt wird, lebt auch die hohe handwerkliche Kunstfertigkeit weiter.

MeisterInnenschaft

Das traditionelle Handwerk in Österreich ist gekennzeichnet durch das duale Ausbildungssystem. Dieses stellt neben der theoretischen Ausbildung in der Berufsschule die persönliche und dynamische Vermittlung von Wissen und KönnerInnenschaft im Handwerksbetrieb sicher.

Geprägt war und ist das duale Ausbildungssystem im traditionellen Handwerk vor allem durch die Qualifikation der MeisterInnen, die aufgrund ihrer umfassenden und praktischen Erfahrungskompetenz im UnternehmerInnentum als Leitfigur imstande sind, dieses Wissen zu tradieren, weiterzuvermitteln. (vgl. Sandgruber, Bichler-Ripfl, Walcher; Traditionelles Handwerk als immaterielles Kulturerbe und Wirtschaftsfaktor in Österreich, Wien 2016, S 33)

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Komplettrestaurierung (antiker) Sitz- und Liegemöbel

Moderne Polsterungen aller Art

Sitzmöbel verschiedener Stilepochen

Ausgewählte Möbel- und Vorhangstoffe

Teppiche und Bodenbeläge

Sonnenschutz

Kontakt

Die Polsterwerkstatt

Attergaustraße 68
4880 St.Georgen im Attergau