GermanEnglish

FRANZ SCHMIDT | 

Harmonica production

A musical instrument that is likely to hit

The harmonica maker Franz Schmidt sen. 1984 founded the company for the production of Styrian harmonicas, which since 2007 by Franz Schmidt jun. to be led. His endeavors are not only the production of harmonica in brilliant quality, but also the development of new techniques and designs.

The body of all Schmidt harmonicas is made of specially cut spruce wood, which ensures a melodious, strong tone. This is then veneered with different types of wood, depending on the customer's requirements. In contrast to violins, however, it is not only the body wood that is decisive for a beautiful sound, but also the type and quality of the other components, such as B. the reeds, the reed blocks, the top or the body base.

Therefore, only selected materials with a long service life are used for the instruments.

Schmidt harmonicas are also characterized by their exceptional light weight and maximum stability.

More than almost any other instrument, the individual wishes and ideas of the musician can be taken into account when building a harmonica. This is the great strength of Franz Schmidt, who discusses all the components with his customers, whether amateur or professional.

Historical

Even “whimsical new” instruments appeared on the music scene in the 19th century, including hand-drawn instruments. The design of the Styrian harmonica was invented in Vienna and, due to its diatonic structure, was particularly suitable for “alpine folk music”. Since this music was simply called “Styrian” in Vienna, the new instrument also became “Styrian”.

The Styrian harmonica differs from other hand-pulled instruments in that it generates different tones when pulled and pushed (diatonic) and that the reeds inside the body are made to vibrate not by keys but by buttons. That is why it is also often called the button accordion, in various cases also Quetsche, Zugin, Styrian, accordion and, in the Salzkammergut, especially “Zug”. Its deep bass, the volume of sound and a certain liveliness make it a solo instrument that does not require any further instrumental support.

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Manufacture of Styrian harmonicas

From school instruments to concert harmonica

Production according to customer requirements - custom-made products

repairs

Loan instruments

Contact

Schmidt Harmonica Production GmbH

Niederschöcklstrasse 23a
8044 Weinitzen near Graz

FRANZ SCHMIDT | 

Harmonika-Erzeugung

Ein hitverdächtiges Musikinstrument

Der Harmonikamachermeister Franz Schmidt sen. gründete 1984 den Betrieb zur Erzeugung von steirischen Harmonikas, der seit 2007 von Franz Schmidt jun. geführt wird. Sein Bestreben ist nicht nur die Erzeugung von Harmonikas in brillanter Qualität, sondern auch die Entwicklung neuer Techniken und Designs.

Der Korpus aller Schmidt-Harmonikas besteht aus speziell geschnittenem Fichtenholz, das für einen wohlklingenden starken Ton sorgt. Dieses wird dann je nach Kundenwunsch mit verschiedenen Hölzern furniert. Im Gegensatz zu Geigen ist jedoch nicht alleine das Korpusholz ausschlaggebend für einen schönen Klang, sondern auch Art und Qualität der anderen Bauteile, wie z. B. der Stimmzungen, der Stimmstöcke, des Verdecks oder des Korpusbodens.

Für die Instrumente werden daher nur ausgesuchte Materialien von hoher Lebensdauer verwendet.

Schmidt-Harmonikas zeichnen sich dabei auch durch ihr außergewöhnliches Leichtgewicht bei höchster Stabilität aus.

Wie kaum bei einem anderen Instrument, kann man beim Bau einer Harmonika die individuellen Wünsche und Vorstellungen des Musikers berücksichtigen. Darin liegt die große Stärke von Franz Schmidt, der mit seinen Kunden, ob Amateur oder Profi, alle Bestandteile bespricht.

Historisches

Gar „wunderliche neuartige“ Instrumente tauchten im 19. Jahrhundert auf dem Musikhimmel auf, so auch die Handzuginstrumente. Die Bauart der steirischen Harmonika wurde in Wien erfunden und eignete sich aufgrund des diatonischen Aufbaus besonders für „alpenländische Volksmusik“. Da man diese Musik in Wien ganz einfach „steirisch“ nannte, wurde auch das neue Instrument zur „Steirischen“.

Die steirische Harmonika unterscheidet sich von anderen Handzuginstrumenten darin, dass sie auf Zug und Druck jeweils andere Töne erzeugt (diatonisch) und dass die Stimmzungen im Inneren des Korpus nicht durch Tasten, sondern durch Knöpfe zum Schwingen gebracht werden. Daher wird sie vielfach auch Knöpferlharmonika genannt, verschiedentlich auch Quetsche, Zugin, Steirische, Ziehharmonika und im Salzkammergut vor allem „Zug“. Ihre tiefen Bässe, das Klangvolumen und eine gewisse Spritzigkeit machen sie zu einem Soloinstrument, das ohne weitere Instrumental-Unterstützung auskommt.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Fertigung von steirischen Harmonikas

Vom Schulinstrument bis zur Konzertharmonika

Anfertigung nach Kundenwunsch – Sonderanfertigungen

Reparaturen

Leihinstrumente

Kontakt

Schmidt Harmonika-Erzeugung GmbH

Niederschöcklstraße 23a
8044 Weinitzen bei Graz