GermanEnglish

BARBARA & FLORIAN DOSTAL | 

WATCHMAKERS

A young couple working on old clocks

Barbara & Florian Dostal run a master workshop for the repair and restoration of antique and new small and large clocks.

It takes a special instinct, precise care and a lot of love for the ailments of old watches, because the past has produced a multitude of masterpieces in timekeeping. A mechanical wristwatch, for example, consists of 130 individual parts and is reassembled in 1120 work steps after cleaning, general overhaul and repair.

It is precisely this ability to repair that characterizes mechanical movements and cases well into the 20th century and, in addition to their special aesthetics, gives them the title of resource-saving sustainability. “The knowledge of the fascinating interlocking of a complex gear train is more than the revival of an old craftsmanship. Only by completely dismantling it can you grasp the special construction of a watch and guess where the errors can be hidden, ”explain the passionate watchmakers Barbara and Florian.

Historical

Man's striving to divide the day into equal time units goes back to antiquity, but many centuries had to pass on the long way from wheelless sun, sand, water and other clocks to weight-driven mechanical clocks. Especially as church tower and town hall clocks, these contributed to a profound rationalization of social life from the 14th century onwards. The time was now subject to the dictates of the strictly advancing clock hand - and it is rumored that with the appearance of these "time division machines" the first burnout cases in the history of mankind were accompanied.

When, shortly after 1500, a steel spring drive was invented in addition to the weight drive, the fixed large clock faced competition from the "portable time" in the form of small table and pocket watches.

Domestic clocks were "packed" in cases to protect them from damage. At the same time, their design increasingly followed fashion trends and individual preferences, the function of time measurement often took a back seat to its external design as jewelry.

The "ormeister" (from the Latin Horologium) were always dependent on cooperation with other trades (hammer smith, nailer, organ builder, Kistler, goldsmith, etc.). Today Barbara and Florian Dostal often manufacture missing parts themselves.

... more in the Testimonial 0 - magazine for history, present and future © Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (available from Hand.Werk.Haus)

Offer

Repair of clocks

Wall clocks, pendulum clocks, grandfather clocks

Repair of small watches

Wristwatches, pocket watches, chronographs, chronometers, stop watches

Mechanical and quartz

Watches with complications

Professional cleaning and general overhaul (replacement of defective parts)

Production of missing or defective parts

Checking the accuracy

Contact

The watchmakers

Wildenhag 40
4881 Straß im Attergau

GermanEnglish

BARBARA & FLORIAN DOSTAL | 

UHRMACHER

Ein junges Paar im Einsatz für alte Uhren

Barbara & Florian Dostal betreiben eine Meisterwerkstatt für Reparatur und Restauration antiker und neuer Klein- und Großuhren.

Es braucht ein besonderes Gespür, präzise Sorgfalt und viel Liebe für die Wehwehchen alter Uhren, denn die Vergangenheit hat eine Vielzahl an Meisterstücken der Zeitmessung hervorgebracht. Eine mechanische Armbanduhr beispielsweise besteht aus 130 Einzelteilen und wird nach Reinigung, Generalüberholung und Reparatur in 1120 Arbeitsgängen wieder zusammengebaut.

Es ist genau diese Reparaturfähigkeit, die mechanische Uhrwerke und Gehäuse bis weit ins 20. Jahrhundert auszeichnet und ihnen zusätzlich zu ihrer besonderen Ästhetik das Prädikat ressourcenschonende Nachhaltigkeit verleiht. „Das Wissen um das faszinierende Ineinandergreifen eines komplexen Räderwerks ist mehr als das Wiederbeleben einer alten Handwerkskunst. Nur durch komplettes Zerlegen kann man die spezielle Konstruktion einer Uhr erfassen und erahnen, wo sich die Fehler verstecken können“, erklären die leidenschaftlichen Uhrmacher Barbara und Florian.

Historisches

Das Streben des Menschen, den Tag in gleich lange Zeiteinheiten zu unterteilen, reicht bis ins Altertum zurück, jedoch mussten viele Jahrhunderte auf dem langen Weg von räderlosen Sonnen-, Sand-, Wasser- und sonstigen Uhren zu gewichtgetriebenen mechanischen Uhrwerken vergehen. Vor allem als Kirchturm- und Rathausuhren trugen diese ab dem 14. Jahrhundert zu einer tiefgreifenden Rationalisierung des gesellschaftlichen Lebens bei. Die Zeit unterlag nun dem Diktat des streng vorrückenden Uhrzeigers – und es wird gemunkelt, dass mit dem Auftauchen dieser „Zeiteinteilungsmaschinen“ auch die ersten Burnout-Fälle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einhergingen.

Als kurz nach 1500 neben dem Gewichtsantrieb der Antrieb durch eine Stahlfeder erfunden wurde, erhielt die ortsfeste Großuhr Konkurrenz durch die „tragbare Uhrzeit“ in Form von kleinen Tisch- und Taschenuhren.

Häusliche Uhren wurden in Gehäusen „verpackt“, um sie vor Schäden zu schützen. Gleichzeitig folgte ihre Gestaltung zunehmend Modeströmungen und individuellen Vorlieben, die Funktion der Zeitmessung rückte vielfach hinter ihre äußere Gestaltung als Schmuck zurück.

Die „ormeister“ (vom lat. Horologium) waren stets auf Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Gewerben (Hammerschmied, Nagler, Orgelbauer, Kistler, Goldschmied etc.) angewiesen. Heute fertigen Barbara und Florian Dostal fehlende Teile vielfach selbst.

… mehr dazu im Testimonial 0 – Magazin für Historie Gegenwart und Zukunft ©Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut (erhältlich im Hand.Werk.Haus)

Angebot

Reparatur von Großuhren

Wanduhren, Pendeluhren, Standuhren

Reparatur von Kleinuhren

Armbanduhren, Taschenuhren, Chronographen, Chronometer, Stoppuhren

Mechanisch und Quarz

Uhren mit Komplikationen

Fachgerechte Reinigung und Generalüberholung (Tausch defekter Teile)

Anfertigung fehlender oder defekter Teile

Überprüfung der Ganggenauigkeit

BARBARA & FLORIAN DOSTAL UHRMACHER

Kontakt