GermanEnglish

Exemplary

A Salzkammergut pattern

The time is "ripe" according to the Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut. Ready for the expansion of the costume complex with a new element. An element that stands for the Salzkammergut's approach to the topic of traditional costume, which likes to and skilfully combines so-called "traditional" with so-called "contemporary", not to say "fashionable": the Salzkammergut pattern is here! A pattern that allows a wide range of possible combinations and suits traditional costumes as well as fashion. Wearable.

origin determination

The "pattern determination" was preceded by time-consuming research in the bibliophile museum world, which mostly brought only fragmentary information to light. We found what we were looking for among the "wooden engravers and printing form manufacturers for endpapers or decorative paper", who have led a relatively unspectacular and trapped existence between the heavy book covers of world literature since the widespread use of book printing.

They are patterns and forms that arose here in the middle of Europe and have actually been forgotten.

This localization in Central Europe is the quintessence of the Salzkammergut pattern, because the European spirit of the present has often forgotten that splendor of color and pattern culture were by no means the great strength of the Europeans. Rather, they bobbed about in complete ignorance in this respect, only to fall into a storm of enthusiasm when the merchant ships from India and the Orient arrived when they saw the colorful indiennes and other elaborate textiles. The inputs from the Asian region and the Levant have had a lasting influence on and changed the clothing of the Europeans and are the color and pattern stylistic foundation of today's "traditional costume".

However, what the Europeans were really good at, starting in the 16th century, was book printing, design of book covers, endpapers, etc.

Well, we've unearthed one of those old "Central European" patterns. The original comes from a woodcut from the 16th century and is likely to have been created in the Salzburg-Bavarian area.

Elaborate new drawings and interpretations followed in order to bring the pattern to paper and fabric in a repeatable and print-ready manner. It should be as "unused" as possible.

contributors

The participants come from the association Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut.

The graphic artist and designer Jörg Hoffmann researched, "raised" and prepared the pattern. In cooperation with the master craftsmen of the HAND.WERK.HAUS Salzkammergut, the pattern was kissed awake. This is how a first, small collection was created as a blouse/shirt, dress, dirndl apron, backpack, straw hat, gilet and a small product series made of paper, which we would now like to present and establish as a Salzkammergut sample collection.

Shirt maker Valentin/Schärding, tailor Haselnus/Altaussee, shoe store Zaisenberger/Bad Aussee, Bittner Hats/Bad Ischl adapt the pattern perfectly so that it draws the eye benevolently without being intrusive – just like traditional costumes are.

Idea: Traktor41 agency

Template design: Graphics / Jörg Hoffmann

Implementation: shirt maker Valentin

GermanEnglish

Mustergültig

Ein Salzkammergut-Muster

Die Zeit ist „reif“, so hat das Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut befunden. Reif für die Erweiterung des Trachtenkomplexes um ein neues Element. Ein Element, das für den Zugang des Salzkammergutes zum Thema Tracht steht, der da gerne und gekonnt sogenannt „Traditionelles“ mit sogenannt „Zeitgenössischem“, um nicht zu sagen „Modischem“ kombiniert: das Salzkammergut-Muster ist da! Ein Muster, das ein schönes Breitband an Kombinationsmöglichkeiten erlaubt und der Tracht ebenso gut steht wie der Mode. Trag-bar eben.

Ursprungsbestimmung

Der „Musterbestimmung“ gingen recht zeitintensive Recherchen in der bibliophilen Museumswelt voran, die zumeist lediglich Fragmentarisches zu Tage fördern. Fündig wurden wir bei den „Holzgraveuren und Druckformenherstellern für Vorsatz- oder Schmuckpapier”, die seit der flächendeckenden Anwendungder Buchdruckkunst ein relativ unspektakuläres und eingeklemmtes Dasein zwischen den schweren Buchdeckeln der Weltliteratur fristen.

Es sind Muster und Formen, die hier in der Mitte Europas entstanden sind und faktisch vergessen wurden.

Diese Verortung in Mitteleuropa ist die Quintessenz des Salzkammergut-Musters, denn vielfach ist dem europäischen Geist der Gegenwart entfallen, dass Farbenpracht und Musterkultur beileibe nicht die große Stärke der Europäer waren. Vielmehr tümpelten sie diesbezüglich in farbloser Unwissenheit vor sich hin, um bei Ankunft der Handelsschiffe aus Indien und dem Orient angesichts farbenprächtiger Indiennes und anderer aufwändiger Textilien in wahre Begeisterungsstürme zu verfallen. Die Inputs aus dem asiatischen Raum und der Levante haben die Gewandung der Europäer nachhaltig beeinflusst und verändert und sind das farb- und musterstilistische Fundament unserer heutigen „Tracht“.

Worin die Europäer jedoch richtig gut waren, und zwar schon ab dem 16. Jahrhundert, das waren Buchdruck, Gestaltung der Bucheinbände, Vorsatzpapiere etc.

Nun, eines dieser alten „mitteleuropäischen“ Muster haben wir ans Licht geholt. Das Original entstammt einem Holzschnitt aus dem 16. Jahrhundert und dürfte im salzburgisch-bayerischen Raum entstanden sein.

Es folgten aufwändige Neuzeichnungen und Interpretationen, um das Muster rapportfähig und druckfertig zu Papier und auf Stoff zu bringen. Möglichst „unverbraucht” sollte es sein.

Mitwirkende

Die Mitwirkenden entstammen dem Verein Hand.Werk.Haus Salzkammergut.

Der Grafiker und Gestalter Jörg Hoffmann hat das Muster recherchiert, „gehoben“ und aufbereitet. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Handwerksmeister*innen des HAND.WERK.HAUS Salzkammergut wurde das Muster wachgeküsst. So ist eine erste, kleine Kollektion als Bluse/Hemd, Kleid, Dirndlschürze, Rucksack, Strohhut, Gilet und eine kleine Produktserie aus Papier entstanden, die wir nun als Salzkammergutmuster-Kollektion vorstellen und etablieren möchten.

Hemdenmacher Valentin/Schärding, Maßschneider Haselnus/Altaussee, Schuhhaus Zaisenberger/Bad Aussee, Bittner Hüte/Bad Ischl passen das Muster perfekt an, damit es die Blicke wohlwollend auf sich zieht, ohne dabei aufdringlich zu sein – wie die Tracht eben ist.

Idee: Agentur Traktor41

Vorlagendesign: Grafik / Jörg Hoffmann

Umsetzung: Hemdenmacher Valentin